Most Requested Monster

7 Feb

“Monster book! Monster book!” is a very familiar sound coming from my students when I come into my preschool classes to do circle time. The book Go Away, Big Green Monster! is definitely the book that gets requested most by my preschoolers. I even have to take it out of the bag of books and props that I take into classes for circle time every once in a while so that the kids will have to request other books.

The book is fairly easy to find online or in book stores and is very engaging in itself. Adding in the puppet set shown in my picture makes the book even more interactive as kids love putting the pieces on the face. Prior to getting the puppet set I printed out the pattern and put velcro on the back. The pattern can be found here:

http://www.kizclub.com/storypatterns/monster%28C%29.pdf

The book is great for working on body parts, requesting, and  negation (i.e. “no more nose). Even kids who normally aren’t the most active participants in circle can’t resist telling the monster to “Go away!”

One Response to “Most Requested Monster”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Great Halloween Speech Therapy Book « The Communication Window - October 31, 2011

    […] in speech therapy with my preschoolers! Fortunately, this book is good to use all fall long. While Go Away, Big Green Monster is probably my favorite book to read this time of year, “The Little Old Lady Who Was Not […]

Leave a Reply

