Question of the Day Activity

16 Feb

Many of my preschoolers with language delays or autism are learning how to ask and answer questions. A resource that I have found that works well for targeting questions is the Question of the Day Chart Kit from Lakeshore Learning.

The kit comes with 100 different question cards and corresponding possible answer cards covering a few different topics such as family, animals, and yes/no questions. The activity is great for working on answering questions, asking questions, and vocabulary.

I like to use the chart during circle time in the preschool classrooms. I begin by reviewing the question of the day and the answer choices then I draw a name out of a bag. That student comes forward and chooses his/her answer and picks another name out of the bag. The student then goes and asks the next student the question of the day. This continues until all the students have had a turn. During the course of the activity, the students get numerous models for answering and asking questions.

I also have extended the activity beyond the questions that come with kit by creating my own question and answer cards that relate to whatever the classroom’s theme is for the week (i.e. this week’s theme is community helpers  so I printed out pictures of a policeman, firefighter, and mailman to go along with the question “What community helper do you want to be when you grow up?”). I use the Boardmaker computer program to quickly make pictures but Clipart would work just as well.

This kit can also be great as a home activity for any child who needs extra support to ask and answer questions. I recommend to parents that they create name cards for each member of the family and have the child ask each person the question. Of course you don’t need the kit to create this type of activity but I find it to be a good starting point.

One Response to “Question of the Day Activity”

  1. Barb August 6, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    To me, this activity seems to be good for both expressive and receptive speech. I think it may also help the children use more complex sentences if such are modeled.

Leave a Reply

