LA Times Article: Putting Ezra First

21 Sep

Autism: Putting Ezra First – LA Times

Today I read this great op-ed piece in the L.A. Times by Tom Fields-Meyer who is a dad of a teenager with autism. I absolutely love the attitude that he takes towards his son and his autism. Instead of mourning his son’s autism, he embraces his quirky qualities and views his autism in a very positive manner.  I understand that every parent’s situation is different and that kind of perspective may not apply to all families of children with special needs. However, I try to maintain a similar attitude to that of Mr. Fields-Meyer while working with all of my students. My goal everyday is to help my kids develop their speech, language, and social skills to the best of their ability but my goal is not to “fix” them.

I plan on reading the book written by Tom Fields-Meyer: “Following Ezra: What One Father Learned About Gumby, Otters, Autism, and Love from His Extraordinary Son” and will post my impressions of it when I am done!

Leave a Reply

