A Great Halloween Speech Therapy Book

31 Oct

Halloween is tomorrow and I realized I forgot to share one of my favorite Halloween/fall themed books to use in speech therapy with my preschoolers! Fortunately, this book is good to use all fall long. While Go Away, Big Green Monster is probably my favorite book to read this time of year, “The Little Old Lady Who Was Not Afraid Of Anything” by Linda Williams is a close second.

It’s a repetitive line book that adds new things on each page as the little old lady is walking home. She encounters shoes that “stomp, stomp”, pants that go “wiggle, wiggle”, and other things until finally she sees the pumpkin head that goes “Boo!” In the end, she uses all the things to make a scarecrow. My kids love imitating the sounds and actions for each of the various items and of course yelling “Boo!”

The book can be used to address a variety of speech therapy goals including imitation, clothing vocabulary, answering questions, and sequencing. One of my preschool classrooms makes a scarecrow just like the one in the book which expands the opportunities for language elicitation even more!

Have a happy and safe Halloween!

Also, see my post about free Halloween speech therapy printable activities here and my free Halloween articulation word searches here.

2 Responses to “A Great Halloween Speech Therapy Book”

  1. CC November 2, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

    I did a whole post on that book a few years ago! http://ifonlyihadsuperpowers.blogspot.com/2009/10/marvelous-childrens-book-monday-little.html

    Thanks for all your encouraging words. they mean a lot to me!

    And I really love your blog 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Halloween TPT Freebie Finds for Speech Therapy | The Communication Window - October 7, 2013

    […] This week I pulled out my “The Little Old Lady Who Was Not Afraid of Anything” book as my first Halloween theme activity for the month. I blogged about how much I love this book for speech therapy a few years ago. You can read that post here. […]

Leave a Reply

