I’m Back!

2 Sep

Holy moly! It looks like it’s been almost two years since I have updated my blog! Where has the time gone? A lot of has changed in the last two years both personally and in the world of education. Personally, I spent much of my free time over the last year embracing my creative side and started a freelance graphic design business (www.backfourdesign.com if you are interested.) I have been doing logos, graphics, web design and all sorts of things! It has been more successful than I ever imagined but unfortunately took me away from my blogging.

Well after a couple year hiatus I have been re-energized by a change in my assignment for this upcoming school year. After 4 years of having only preschoolers on my caseload, this year I will have both preschool and elementary kiddos. So while I will still have a big focus on preschoolers with autism I am also jumping back into the world of elementary. I guess I better turn back on that part of my brain and unbox all my elementary materials and games!

Over the last two years, technology has opened many opportunities for new activities and materials in the world of speech pathology and special education. I have been using my iPad as a speech therapy tool fairly consistently and plan on using it even more this year since I know how motivating it is for older kids. Some other technology resources that are changing education are Pinterest and and sites like Teachers Pay Teachers.

With my developing graphic design skills and desire to have to great new activities this year I am starting to develop lists of  all the materials I would like to create! Way too many ideas! This week I have been working on revamping my articulation data sheets as well as making a sheet that my students can graph their own progress on articulation goals. I will be posting up a link to that soon so keep an eye out. The really big first project I am working on is a packet of great pictures and activities for working on multisyllabic words that will target both articulation and language goals. Hopefully it will be ready by the end of the week!

This year I plan on blogging about new materials I discover, reviewing iPad apps, and of course general ideas about the world of speech pathology and autism. It feels good to be back!

Leave a Reply

